My Introduction to Reiki

Around 15 years back I first heard about Reiki, it was introduced to me by a family friend.

My Dad was unwell, suffering from Sciatica due to which he was bed ridden for a couple of months. Doctors in India had suggested him to undergo a surgery for his condition. While we were waiting for a surgery date, one of our family friend’s daughter who came to visit my dad suggested about Reiki Healing as an alternative therapy for his condition. We had never heard about Reiki before, so we were skeptic and so started asking her more about it. The brief explanation we got about Reiki and its healing process, initially sounded more like Magic and too good to be true!

She insisted and asked permission from my dad if she could give him Reiki. Once my Dad agreed, she performed Reiki on my Dad as we all sat down looking at her in complete astonishment. We had our doubts so looked at the whole process with every minute detail waiting for that one opportunity where we could call it a bluff.

However, and this is where it gets interesting, while she continued to performed Reiki, my dad started feeling relaxed and fell asleep. That was the point when I got more curious, as after a very long time I had seen my dad relaxed and pain free.

Suddenly I had a lot of questions in my mind, as by this time I wanted to learn everything about Reiki. The lady patiently answered all my queries and doubts without losing the smile on her face. I guess she could sense my eagerness to learn more about Reiki, so she mentioned about her guru (Teacher) from who she had learnt this art. She said her Guru was conducting a Reiki Class and if I would be interested to attend it. I immediately jumped with excitement and was like YES I want to know more about this!

For my father she suggested that we should have a Reiki Practitioner do a 21day healing sessions to improve his condition. For a very nominal amount, a Reiki Practitioner came to our home and  started performing Reiki Healing treatment on my dad. After 21 days, believe it or not, my Dad was absolutely fine and his Sciatica was gone without undergoing any surgery!

It felt like a Miracle!

This is how I was introduced to Reiki and will forever be grateful to the person who shared such an amazing Healing art that helped me and my family.

Disclaimer: I am not implying that a person should not have a surgery or any conventional treatment and only go with Reiki as a treatment option but yes Reiki can be used as a complementary way of healing. NHS UK advocates Reiki as a complementary therapy in dealing with pain while going through conventional treatment.

 

Leave a comment